St. Thomas a'Becket Catholic Church: 555 S. Lilley Rd., Canton, MI 48188, 734-981-1333,
   Sacraments   |   Faith Formation   |   Youth Ministry   |   Pastoral Ministries   |   Commissions / Groups   |   Volunteer   |   Support Our Parish   
Holy Communion
Anointing of the Sick
Holy Orders
Funeral Planning
Your Path in Life
Contact Parish Office

Home > Sacraments

Seven Sacraments of the Catholic Church


"The whole liturgical life of the Church revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. There are seven sacraments in the Church, Baptism, Confirmation or Charismation, Eucharist, Penance [Reconciliation], Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders, and Matrimony." (Catechism of the Catholic Church #1113)

"The purpose of the sacraments is to sanctify men, to build up the Body of Christ and, finally, to give worship to God. Because they are signs, they must also instruct. They not only presuppose faith, but by words and objects they also nourish, strengthen, and express it. That is why they are called 'sacraments of faith.'" (Catechism of the Catholic Church #1123)

At St. Thomas a'Becket, we put a great deal of time, energy, thought, prayer and devotion into our celebrations of the sacraments. The menu to the left should assist you in learning more about the sacraments and how our parishioners prepare for and celebrate them. You may also want to learn more about our Mass Times or Holy Days of Obligation.

Thought about becoming Catholic? Visit Adult Faith Formation


The Baltimore Catechism defined "sacrament" as "an outward sign instituted by Christ to give grace." Read "Sacraments: It All Starts With Jesus" by Thomas Richstatter, O.F.M. for a new way to think about "sacraments."


St. Thomas a'Becket Catholic Church | 555 S. Lilley Road | Canton, MI 48188 | (734) 981-1333 |